Kroger restructures in Texas, names 2 presidents

Kroger split the Southwest division into separate Dallas and Houston divisions, and named new presidents for each division.

Bill Breetz, currently president of the Southwest division, will serve as president of the Houston division, and continue to lead operations in Texas and Louisiana for the rest of the year. Breetz has been president of Kroger's Southwest division since 2002.

Dana Zurcher, VP of operations for the Southwest division, will become president of Kroger's Dallas division on Oct. 1.

Zurcher first started at Kroger in 1985 and held leadership roles, including store manager and district coordinator, throughout her 30 years with the company. Management roles at Kroger have taken her all over the country, from being district manager for the Fry's division in Phoenix to director of operations for the Ralphs division in Los Angeles.

"Dana's experience spans several retail divisions, and she understands nearly every aspect of our business," said Rodney McMullen, Kroger's chairman and CEO. "She is an exceptional leader who is known for helping associates discover their full potential. We are excited to have Dana lead our team in Dallas."

The Dallas division has 105 stores in the Dallas and Fort Worth markets and in the Shreveport and Alexandria, Louisiana, area. The Houston division includes 109 stores in the greater Houston region and in Lake Charles, Louisiana. Press Release